Google wave

10/07/09
Culture

After playing around with Google wave, I found myself asking what next. Below are just a few extensions/gadgets you may want to expore.

Robots

(To use robots, add them as a contact, then add the robot-contact to a wave)

Chatbots

  • Eliza – ogenex@appspot.com – An implementation of the Eliza chatbot borrowed from the NLTK.
  • Elize – elizarobot@appspot.com – Is one of the first robots that was created by non Googler and is very useful if you are feeling alone in your Google Wave client.
  • Rude chatbot – notatory@appspot.com – An obnoxious chatbot borrowed from the Natural Language Processing Toolkit.
  • TooAngel WaveIn Progresstooangel-wave@appspot.com – A self learning robot, that will respond to a reply in a more humanoid way

Conversion

  • BotURL – boturl@appspot.com – A URL Linker that replaces full URLs with hyperlinks.
  • Calcbotcalcbot@appspot.comThis bot will do in place calculations for simple mathematical expressions and allow you to use user defined variables.
  • Cartoonycartoonybot@appspot.com – Replaces the text of every submitted blip with a cartoon balloon that contains the text instead. Colors the balloons based on username.
  • Dice Botdice-bot@appspot.com – Dice-rolling bot. Dice Bot will replace XdY (X is the number of dice; Y is the number of sides) with the results of those rolls.
  • Flippy – flippy-wave@appspot.com – Turns text upside-down.
  • Fnordlinkyfnordlinks@appspot.comReplaces “PMID <number>” with article information from PubMed.
  • Hearty Emobot – hearty-emobot@appspot.com – Replaces ASCII art with wingding characters.
  • i-croni-cron@appspot.com – Evaluates Python expressions. Looks at blips in event, searches for CALC() macros and executes Python code using exec().
  • Insulty – megabytemb123@appspot.comInformation Needed
  • IPA Botipa-bot@appspot.comChanges normal letters into special characters used for phonetics.
  • Piratifypiratify@appspot.com – Turns whatever you type into “Pirate Speak” .. Arrrr.
  • Plotzieplotzie@appspot.com – Plots sparklines from your data.
  • ShorteeWish – Change “c u l8r” to “see you later” etc.
  • Swedish Chefborkforceone@appspot.com – Changes english into Swedish-Chef Speak. Bork! Bork!
  • Syntaxykasyntaxy@appspot.com – Syntaxy does blip-by-blip syntax highlighting for a variety of languages including Python, Java, C, C++, html, css and javascript.
  • Watexy – watexy@appspot.comUse LaTeX mathematical language in your Waves!
  • Wikify – wikifier@appspot.comReplaces specific marked up text with a link to Wikipedia or a description relevant to the marked text.

Games

  • Hangmanwavehangman@appspot.com – Play Hangman.
  • Roshambo – roshambowave@appspot.com – Play Roshambo (Rock / Paper / Scissors).
  • Speedy – Wish – Track the words per minute of all participants, competitive typing!

Groups

  • Groupygroupy-robot@appspot.com – Robot to manage groups.
  • Groupygroupy-the-bot@appspot.com – Robot to manage groups.

Integration

  • drop.iomikeswaverobot@appspot.com – Creates a drop and puts the info into the wave whenever the robot is added as a participant.
  • OpenAustrailia In Progress – A robot to allow interaction with the OpenAustralia web site.
  • PlonieBot – In Progressploniebot@appspot.com – Brings wave document editing capabilities to the Plone CMS
  • Poppy – In Progresspoppywave@appspot.com – Helps bridge Google Wave conversations to email users outside the Wave.
  • Rssybotrssybot@appspot.comTurn google wave into an RSS reader!
  • Starifystarifybot@appspot.com – Lets you star waves, in sort of bookmarking style.
  • Tweety the Twitbot – tweety-wave@appspot.com – You can access your Twitter account.
  • Twiliobot – twiliobot@appspot.com – Transforms phone numbers into click-to-call links. If user clicks a link, a call is placed to his phone and to the number in the link. The call can be transcribed and inserted into the wave as text with a link to the audio.
  • Wave-EmailIn Progresswave-email@appspot.com – Provide an extension to Google Wave which will allow the integration of both sending and receiving emails.
  • Wave Live Messengerwavelivemessenger@appspot.com – Allows you to chat to your windows live messenger contacts from inside a wave.

Language

  • PhilBot – Wish – A suggested solution to the problem of waves with languages you can’t read.
  • Rosy Etta – rosy@wavesandbox.com – Translator (40 Languages).

Polling

  • Polly the Pollster polly-wave@appspot.com – Poll Bot.

Search / Aggregation

  • Dr Maps – dr-maps@appspot.com – Updates a wave by inserting a map associated to an address.
  • Dr Weather – shiny-sky@appspot.com – Gives the weather for a City
  • Embedded Search Results – wave-sandbox@appspot.com – Web and Image searches inline.
  • FML Blipper – fmlblipper@appspot.com – displays random FML story from www.fmylife.com
  • Grauniady – grauniady@appspot.com – Searches the latest items from The Guardian for a given phrase.
  • Stocky – stocky-wave@appspot.com – Detects stock symbols from a wave and updates it with the live stock price.
  • Wavethingy – wavethingy@appspot.com – Searches Amazon for DVDs and books, and gives the author a cut of any purchases made off the links.
  • Yelpy – yelpful@appspot.com – Searches Yelp with a user defined location and category.

Utilities

  • AmazonBotamazon-withwaves-com@appspot.com – Enables social product research and shopping on Amazon.com. Wave participants can share products & reviews with contacts in real-time thanks to automatic queries by the AmazonBot against conversation keywords. The AmazonBot gadget can detect products and return inline product links or a custom full product browser.
  • Bloggy – blog-wave@appspot.comInformation Needed
  • Bit.ly Botbitly-bot@appspot.comShortens the url using bitly.
  • Botty – Wish – Will automatically add a set of useful bots to a wave according to a collection of bots (so they don’t have to individually be added when you use them all the time.
  • CountColoncountcolon@appspot.com – Adds text statistics to your blips (words, lines, etc.)
  • Companion Sphere – companionsphere@appspot.com – Collection of geek utils, first working verb is “lookup” for wikipedia/wiktionary one-line descriptions.
  • Databot – Wish – Will start as soon as the GData interface is published.
  • Emoticonyemoticonbot@appspot.com – Replaces text representations of emoticons with the relevant image.
  • JBREAKOUT BOT ADDED – jbreakout@appspot.com – Debug utility that reports event triggers.
  • Maisonmaison@appspot.com – Makes blips public at http://maison.appspot.com.
  • Multi – multi-wave@appspot.com – A quote collector. Reply a blip you want to quote with ‘quote this’ and randomly display a quote with ‘quote <wave@account.com>’. The bot is still being under development but you can try playing with it.
  • Natural Language Processing – knowledge-books@appspot.com – Adds blips with NLP analysis.
  • Nokar – lab2market@appspot.com – Has many features such as translations, image insertion, insert last tweets etc.
  • Posterous-robotposterous-robot@appspot.com – A robot for posterous.com user to post blog in Google Wave. Here is how to write a blog using Google Wave Robot for Posterous.
  • Publisher – wave-publisher@appspot.comInformation Needed
  • Skimmywave-skimmy@appspot.com – Converts text emoticons, from : ) to img. Has a bookmarklet which creates a popup menu to insert emoticons for which the code is unknown.
  • Smileysmiley-bot@appspot.com – Changes the smiley symbols to smiley images.
  • Smiley – In Progresssmiley-robot@appspot.com Changes the smiley symbols to smiley images.
  • Style Chart Robot – stylechart@appspot.com – Inserts a chart into a wave.

Wave Management

  • Bouncy – bouncy-wave@appspot.comAllows you to remove robots from a wave. Doesn’t seem to work on real people though, and laughs if you try to ask it to kick itself out. To get it to kick a bot out, type “bounce:name@domain.com”
  • Linear – Wish – Enforce all replies to be to the main wave. If a user replies to a reply, remove it and place it as a reply to the main wavelet.
  • Read Onliereadonliebot@appspot.com – Records the original wave content. Whenever it’s edited, the content is replaced with the original. Simple as that.
  • Seekdroidseekdroid@appspot.com – You can list Robots, add them and find them out, easy to use. In continuous development. Website with all the information seekdroid.appspot.com.
  • Sweepysweepy-wave@appspot.com – Remove empty, whitespace-only blips.
  • Taggytaggy-wave@appspot.com – Recognize #hashtags and add them as tags to the wave.
  • Tocgen – tocgen@appspot.com – Table of Contents auto-generated and updated based on the h1,h2,h3,h4 in a wave.
  • Twitusernamestwitusernames@appspot.com – Replaces all Twitter @username with links to the Twitter accounts.

Gadgets

(To use gadgets, once editing a blip, just click on the green puzzle piece,  and enter the url into the bottom text box)

Utilities

  • Ajax Animator GadgetIn Progress – http://antimatter15.com/ajaxanimator/wave/manifest.xml – A fully integrated multi-user web based vector graphic animation authoring environment.
  • AmazonBot Gadgett – http://amazon-withwaves-com.appspot.com/gadgets/AmazonProductList.xml – The AmazonBot gadget can detect products and return inline product links or a custom full product browser.
  • Bidder – http://wave-api.appspot.com/public/gadgets/bidder.xml – Simple Auction.
  • Checky – http://wave-gadgets.appspot.com/checky.xml – Basecamp-like checklists with drag-and-drop.
  • Click mehttp://wave-api.appspot.com/public/gadgets/hellowave.xml – Shows a button with a counter. Each time the button gets clicked, the counter is incremented by one. Shows off how the state interaction works.
  • HTML– http://wave-ide.appspot.com/html.xml – Embed any HTML into a wave.
  • <iframe> – http://wave-ide.appspot.com/iframe.xml – Embed any web page (as <iframe>) into a wave.
  • iWavehttp://gadget.wave.to/iWave/iWave.xml – Allows you to create a profile on wave to make wave just a little more personal. Uses facebook connect to retrieve your details if you sign in.
  • LicensingIn Progress – http://wave-license.appspot.com/license_gadget.xml – Creative Commons RDF Embedding – Planning Stage.
  • Maps – http://hosting.gmodules.com/ig/gadgets/file/101415471413908368316/mappy.xml -Embed Google Map.
  • Napkin – http://my-wave-gadgets.appspot.com/wave/NapkinGadget.xml – Example of Flash/Flex Wave Gadget, similar to Whiteboard gadget above – source on Google Code.
  • QuakeBot – In Progress – Server information on the Quake 3 protocol.
  • Rafflyhttp://raffly.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/sandbox/raffly-xml1/raffly.xml – Insert this gadget to select a random participant from your wave to be the winner. The winner of what? Well that’s up to you 🙂
  • Ratings – http://google-wave-resources.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/samples/extensions/gadgets/ratings/ratings.xml – Lets participants rate and review a topic (movie, restaurant, etc) in a wave and shows a tally of the result.
  • Slashdot Gadget – http://www.m1cr0sux0r.com/slashdot.xml – Loads latest Headlines from Slashdot.
  • Troco – An experimental peer-to-peer currency –  http://troco.ourproject.org/gadget/org.ourproject.troco.client.TrocoWaveGadget.gadget.xml – Aims to provide a decentralized complementary community currency system, that is, a peer-to-peer currency system. Also you can see it as an IOU or promissory note based system. More info click here.
  • Vector Editor – http://jsvectoreditor.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/wave/vectoreditor.xml – A cross platform collaborative real time vector graphics editor.
  • Whiteboard gadget – http://vps.michaelrose.id.au/canvas.xml – Draw on a virtual whiteboard.
  • Who is Coming? – http://wave-api.appspot.com/public/gadgets/areyouin/gadget.xml -Show a list of all people that have said whether they will come or not.

Games

  • Backgammon – WishRemove all of one’s own checkers from the board before one’s opponent can do the same. [Wikipedia]
  • Battleship – Wish – Displays different board based on user.
  • Boxes – In Progress – Connect lines to make boxes and win.
  • Cards – http://wave-cards.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/cards.xml – Play card games.
  • Chess – http://gerculanum.appspot.com/gadgets/com.example.chessgadget.client.ChessGadget.gadget.xml – Play chess.
  • Connect 4/Four-in-a-row – In Progresssdunster@wavesandbox.comhttp://www.sdunster.com/wave/four.xml – 2 users + observers, turn locking, just waiting to write win-detection code.
  • Floodithttp://gadget.wave.to/floodit/game.xml – 2 player race to fill a board with colors.
  • Magnetic Poetry – http://hosting.gmodules.com/ig/gadgets/file/107558585548952247431/fridge-11.xml – Re-arrange random words to form poetry.
  • Match them colors!In Progress – Match 3 / gem matching game.
  • Othello – Wish – Play Reversi.
  • Sudoku – http://blah.appspot.com/wave/sudoku/sudoku.xml – Play Sudoku.
  • The Button – http://hyperthese.net/wave-gadgets/the-button.xml – A useless (I mean USELESS) game.

Write a comment

Name *

E-mail *

Website

Message *

0 Comments

There are no comments yet.